Awards and juries

Best Feature Film International Award


Seven Italian premières for international directors’ first or second features. An international panel of judges comprising film industry pros is here to discover the best of these and a talented director.

To read the guidelines click HERE.

In jury: Margherita Buy, Hannah Woodhead, Maurizio Braucci

An award-winning actress, an independent journalist and one of the best screenwriters: this is the jury of the International Feature Film Competition that will judge the 7 italian premièred films.

The Italian actress Margherita Buy (Maledetto il giorno che t’ho incontrato, Le fate ignoranti, I giorni dell’abbandono, Viaggio sola) the female leading actress to have won more awards: David di Donatello (16 nominations, 7 victories) and Nastri d’Argento (14 nominations, 8 victories), as well as many international awards. Hannah Woodhead, Associate Editor of the British film magazine “Little White Lies”, a collaborator of “BBC”, “The Guardian” and “Dazed”, and correspondent at main international film festivals; and, lastly, Maurizio Braucci, Neapolitan writer and screenwriter, co-author – among others – of Gomorra by Matteo Garrone (Grand Prix Cannes 2008), Napoli, Napoli, Napoli by Abel Ferrara (2008), Anime nere by Francesco Munzi (David di Donatello Best Screenplay 2014), La paranza dei bambini by Claudio Giovannesi (Silver Bear Best Screenplay 2018), and Martin Eden by Pietro Marcello (2018) recently in competition at Venezia76.

Campari Best Short Film Award


As many as forty-one films by directors under 40, new talents from over 30 countries. All genres together – fiction, documentary, animation, experimental – for an overview of the short film genre. The best is chosen, as always, by a creative group much appreciated by the Festival.

To read the guidelines click HERE.

In jury: Nowness

To choose the best among the 41 titles participating in the International Short Film Competition, we have invited, as always, a team that we admire. For the 24th edition, the English Nowness editorial office will be with us, an international multimedia platform founded in 2010 and that is free and dedicated to those who are “culturally curious”, that deals with cinema, music, fashion, architecture, dance, art, travel and design. To do this, Nowness uses short audio-visuals – short fictions, video clips, video essays, documentaries – with a strong editorial line. Quality wins over quantity and, unlike the content saturation of other online video platforms, it has few and well selected titles every week. Thanks to a brilliant work of research, Nowness, followed by 20 million people in the world, offers a heterogeneous narrative of the contemporary. A moving mosaic to capture the questions, even pertaining to style, of our day.

Those collaborating with Nowness – among others – are Björk, Mykki Blanco, Devendra Banhart, Florence Welch, Frank Gehry, Lil Buck, David Lynch and Jenn Nkiru.

Best Actress N.A.E. Award


Identifying a talent, understanding her versatility with respect to the character to play and getting into a new role, maintaining the same self-image. A jury panel with four Italian actresses – Valeria Solarino, Margherita Buy, Laura Chiatti and Giulia Michelini – select the best actress of this Festival’s edition.

Grazie Maestro! Award to Guido Manuli


Guido Manuli is one of the most important names in italian and milanese films of the last fifty years. With the “Grazie Maestro!” Award, the Festival pays him tribute with a program retracing a large and varied corpus of his work, from TV themes to mixedtechnique short films, to the latest digital and 3D experiments.

The award is an illustration by Paolo Bacillieri.

COMIECO Award “The 7 lives of paper”


“Rebirth” is the key word for paper and cardboard recycling and for
the short films made by students and former students of the Civica Scuola di Cinema Luchino Visconti.

Audience Award


Everyone can choose the favourite straight after the film has ended. For years, the way to remember the Festival’s most loved.

Aprile Award


The selection committee select a talent to follow among the films screened during the edition. A critical award and one of esteem.

Staff Award


From Festival’s staff to the volunteers, and the technicians, all the participants who contribute to the edition in any way choose their film together.